CPCS Renewal Test

To apply for a CPCS Renewal Test  Click here

This test makes sure that key knowledge of each plant category or group of categories is maintained, in order to renew a CPCS competent operator (blue) card.

The renewal test is divided into test modules. Each module has 15 randomly selected multiple choice questions, which need to be answered within 15 minutes.

Each module is CPCS plant specific and the questions are based on a range of topics and key knowledge expected of experienced plant operators.

Different modules have been developed to meet the demands of various construction plant and trades. Modules are available for each category of plant or group of similar categories. You will need to make sure you book and prepare for the right one(s).

To work out which modules you need to take for your CPCS renewal use Module Matcher: cpcsrt.citb.co.uk or go tocitb.co.uk/cpcs

To renew a CPCS Blue Competent Operator card, an operator is required to:

1. hold a CPCS Blue Competent Operator Card for the category which is within five years of the expiry date
2. pass the relevant CITB Health, safety and environment test within the last two years
3. pass the CPCS Renewal test for each category held
4. demonstrated on-going practical operating experience through a choice of routes:

  • Logbook
  • On-Site Assessment
  • CPCS Practical test
  • SVQ or NVQ.

A score report for each module will be printed straight after you have completed the test. This will advise if you have passed or failed each module. Once you have passed the necessary module(s) of the CPCS renewal test, you can apply to renew the competent operator card for the categories that you hold associated with this module.